My Poems here! My Facebook Profile My Testimony

Past Entries Archive
Leave a Note
Get Your Own Diary
My Profile


11 June 2014 - 15:55 - Psalm Study Intro

Regardless of what we think or feel, there is no authentic worship of God without a right knowledge of God.
-Bob Kauflin

There is no authentic worship of God without right knowledge of God! This is very important. You can't worship what you do not know. As such, it is important to have a right knowledge of God.


Therefore, I began (several months ago) a search through the Psalms in order to know God rightly according to the Psalms. No doubt all of Scripture has much to reveal about God. However, since the Psalms are specifically written as songs to be sung, I wanted to search them particularly to see what they reveal about God. My purpose in doing this is not to put God under a microscope. My purpose is not just to gain intellectual knowledge of God to be stored away. Rather, my desire is to know God more in order to worship Him more, and in order to delight in that knowledge of Him. Theology, rightly understood, will always lead to doxology (praise).


I also began this study because so many people read Scripture selfishly. They do not read Scripture in order to know and worship God more, but rather to know what they need to do in order to get to heaven. Granted, it's important to know what it looks like to live a holy, obedient life. Nevertheless, I believe we should first-and-foremost read Scripture to know and worship God!

For example, Scripture teaches that God created the heavens and the earth (Genesis 1:1). Have you taken time simply to marvel in awe over that fact? Have you taken the time to worship and praise God because He is your Creator? Have you delighted in God as your Creator? Scripture also teaches that God laughs in heaven as rebellious nations rage against Him on earth (Psalm 2). Have you worshiped and praised and delighted in God because He is the Almighty, Sovereign God who laughs at defiant nations? Have you worshiped, praised, and delighted in God because of the fact that He is coming to judge the wicked? The book of Revelation is full of such praise! Many people rightfully delight in Him for His love and grace, but we should�nay, we must�worship and praise and delight in Him for all that Scripture reveals about Him, including His righteous wrath. Thus, I began this study for the ultimate purpose of delighting more in God.

This study has been a huge blessing, because it's drawing me closer to God! I spend at least one week reading through each individual Psalm over and over and over again. I'm reading it in the original Hebrew, in the Greek translation (i.e. the Septuagint) which was translated around 200BC (by the way, you can trust your English translations; I'll write more about that later). As I read, I'm meditating on the words and communing with the Holy Spirit in the process. As I go to sleep each night, I like to meditate upon one phrase as I lie down to bed. I�d like to share some of what I�ve learned. Each week I�ll add a little bit more.

Soli Deo Gloria (Glory to God Alone)


Previous .............................. Archives .............................. Next