My Poems here! My Facebook Profile My Testimony

Past Entries Archive
Leave a Note
Get Your Own Diary
My Profile


05 June 2014 - 21:31 - Goodness

Psalm 16:2b is awesome and convicting. The Hebrew looks like this,

ט֝וֹבָתִ֗י בַּל־עָלֶֽיךָ

The meaning of these words can be communicated in various ways in the English language. For example,

"I have no good apart from you." (ESV)
"I have no good besides You.� (NASB)
"My goodness is nothing apart from You.� (NKJV)
"I have nothing good besides You.� (HCSB)
"Apart from you I have no good thing.� (NIV11)
"You are ... my only source of well-being.� (NET)

Indeed, there is absolutely no good apart from God; any goodness one might have is nothing apart from God. God alone is good (cf. Mk 10:18; Lk. 18:19).

So why do I so often seek goodness away from God? Like Eve standing before the forbidden fruit, I often set my gaze upon something that appears good for me, when in reality it's anything but good.

Thankfully, God reminds me that goodness is in Him alone, and He strengthens and enables me through His Spirit to turn from every counterfeit goodness and to delight in Him. And it never fails: His goodness is always far more delightful!


Previous .............................. Archives .............................. Next