My Poems here! My Facebook Profile My Testimony

Past Entries Archive
Leave a Note
Get Your Own Diary
My Profile


11 June 2014 - 16:20 - Psalm 1: Instruction-giving God

The following was actually written on May 21, 2014.


As I mentioned in the previous blog, I'm going to begin sharing some of what I've been learning in my study through the Psalms. Again, my focus is on reading each Psalm to learn about Godwho He is and what He does�not about me.


In consideration of my focus (read above), it's interesting that Psalm 1 actually focuses not on God, but rather on man. Nevertheless, Psalm 1 still teaches us some things about God. For example, it reveals God as a God who gives His people nourishing instructions. The Hebrew term Torah (תּוֹרָה) is often translated law, but also means instruction.

This Psalm teaches that God�s instructions are beneficial to us; they make us happy/blessed; they make us fruitful; they lead us to righteousness and life. Wow!! God did not have to give us any instruction, let alone good and holy instructions (cf. Romans 7:12). But He did! Read through Psalm 1, and join me in praising and worshiping God specifically for being an instruction-giving God!

Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked,
nor stands in the way of sinners,
nor sits in the seat of scoffers;
but his delight is in the law/instruction of Yahweh,
and on his law/instruction he meditates day and night.
He is like a tree planted by streams of water
that yields its fruit in its season,
and its leaf does not wither.
In all that he does, he prospers.
The wicked are not so, but are like chaff that the wind drives away.
Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,
nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous;
for Yahweh knows the way of the righteous,
but the way of the wicked will perish. (Psalms 1:1�6)


Previous .............................. Archives .............................. Next